Pacific Institute Topics Publications Resources Press Center AboutUs Contact
end of navigation section


2006 AGU Annual Meeting
Speaker Bios

Peter H. Gleick
Co-founder and President
The Pacific Institute for Studies in Development, Environment, and Security

Gleick’s research and writing address the critical connections between water and human health, the hydrologic impacts of climate change, sustainable water use, privatization and globalization, and international conflicts over water resources. He oversees the Institute’s Integrity of Science Initiative.

Dr. Gleick is an internationally recognized water expert and was named a MacArthur Fellow in October 2003 for his work. In 2001, Gleick was dubbed a "visionary on the environment" by the British Broadcasting Corporation. In 1999, Gleick was elected an Academician of the International Water Academy, in Oslo, Norway and in 2006, he was elected to the National Academy of Sciences, Washington, D.C.

Gleick received a B.S. from Yale University and an M.S. and Ph.D. from the University of California, Berkeley. He serves on the boards of numerous journals and organizations, and is the author of many scientific papers and five books, including the biennial water report, The World's Water, published by Island Press (Washington, D.C.).

Timothy L. Killeen
American Geophysical Union (AGU)

Born in Cardiff, Wales, Killeen received a BSc in Physics and a Ph.D. in Atomic and Molecular Physics from the University College, London. Prior to joining NCAR, Killeen was Professor of Atmospheric and Space Sciences at the University of Michigan. During his tenure at Michigan, he also held positions as Director of the University of Michigan’s Space Physics Research Laboratory and Associate Vice President for Research. Concurrent with his role as Director of NCAR, Killeen continues his research as a Senior Scientist at NCAR’s High Altitude Observatory, where his research interests include the experimental and theoretical study of the Earth’s upper atmosphere. He is a principal investigator and instrument developer for a space-borne Doppler interferometer on the NASA TIMED spacecraft, and Co-Principal Investigator for a new NSF Science and Technology Center devoted to numerical modeling of Space Weather. He is President of the American Geophysical Union (AGU), a Fellow of the American Meteorological Society (AMS), and a former AMS Councilor. Killeen has served as President of the Space Physics Section of the American Geophysical Union, and on numerous NASA, NSF, AGU and university committees. He served as co-chair of the NASA Sun-Solar System Connection Strategic Roadmap Committee, and is a past Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Atmospheric and Solar-Terrestrial Physics.

Judith Curry
Professor and Chair
School of Earth and Atmospheric Sciences at the Georgia Institute of Technology.

Dr. Curry received a Ph.D. in atmospheric science from the University of Chicago in 1982. Prior to joining the faculty at Georgia Tech, she has held faculty positions at the University of Colorado, Penn State University and Purdue University. Dr. Curry's research interests span a variety of topics in climate; current interests include changes in global tropical cyclone activity. Dr. Curry currently serves on the National Academies Space Studies Board and the NOAA Climate Working Group. Dr. Curry is coauthor of the book Thermodynamics of Atmospheres and Oceans and is editor for the Encyclopedia of Atmospheric Sciences. She has published over 130 refereed journal articles. Dr. Curry is a Fellow of the American Meteorological Society and the American Geophysical Union. In 1992, she received the Henry Houghton Award from the American Meteorological Society.

Donald Kennedy

Dr. Kennedy received AB and Ph.D. degrees in Biology from Harvard University and has served on the faculty of Stanford University from 1960 to the present. He served as Chair of the Department of Biology from 1964-1972, and as Director of the Program in Human Biology from 1973-1977. He was Commissioner of the US Food and Drug Administration from 1977-79 and President of Stanford University from 1980 to 1992. His present research interests include policies for resolving trans-boundary environmental problems such as global climate change, and the development of regulatory policies. Currently he serves as Editor-in-Chief of Science, the journal of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. A member of the National Academy of Sciences since 1972, he has served on the National Commission for Public Service and the Carnegie Commission on Science, Technology and Government, and as a founding Director of the Health Effects Institute. He is a Director of the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace, Co-Chair of the National Academies' Project on Science, Technology and Law, and a Trustee of the David and Lucille Packard Foundation.

Francesca Grifo
Senior Scientist and Scientific Integrity Program Director
Union of Concerned Scientists (UCS)

Dr. Grifo came to UCS in 2005 from Columbia University where she directed the Center for Environmental Research and Conservation graduate policy workshop and ran the Science Teachers Environmental Education Program. Prior to that, she was director of the Center for Biodiversity and Conservation and a curator of the Hall of Biodiversity at the American Museum of Natural History in New York. 

Dr. Grifo edited and contributed to the books Biodiversity and Human Health and The Living Planet in Crisis; biodiversity science and policy. In addition to her scholarly work, Dr. Grifo was the manager of the International Cooperative Biodiversity Groups Program at the National Institutes of Health. She was also a senior program officer for Central and Eastern European for the Biodiversity Support Program, a consortium of the World Resources Institute, the Nature Conservancy, and the World Wildlife Fund; and an AAAS Fellow in the Office of Research at the Agency for International Development.

Francesca earned her PhD in botany from Cornell, and a BA in biology from Smith College.  She currently holds adjunct appointments at Columbia and Georgetown.

print buttonPrint email buttonEmail


2006 AGU Annual Meeting

Speaker Abstracts


Integrity of Science Initiative